Union Cycliste Internationale
English  |  Français  
UCI OLD ▪ History ▪
Home Road Track Mountain Bike Cyclo-cross BMX Trials Indoor cycling Para-cycling Cycling for all


1893 : First Track World Championships.

1896 : First modern Olympic Games. Cycling is included in the programme.

14 April 1900: Foundation of the Union Cycliste Internationale by the Belgian, French, Italian, Swiss and United States National Federations in Paris (FRA).

1921 : First Amateur Road World Championships.

1927 : First Professional Road World Championships.

1950 : First Cyclo-Cross World Championships.

1956 : First Indoor Cycling World Championships.

1965 : Creation of the International Amateur Cycling Federation (FIAC) and the International Professional Cycling Federation (FICP). The UCI became the coordinating body for these two federations. The FIAC was established in Rome (ITA), the FICP in Brussels (BEL).

1969 : On July 1st, the UCI headquarters are transferred from Paris (FRA) to Geneva (SUI).

1977 : The FICP headquarters are transferred from Brussels (BEL) to Luxemburg (LUX).

1982 : First BMX World Championships.

1984 : First Trials World Championships.

1990 : First official Mountain Bike World Championships.

1992 : Reunification of FIAC and FICP within the UCI. On November 1st, the Federation moves to Lausanne (SUI). On December 16th, inauguration of the new UCI headquarters in Lausanne.

1993 : First official BMX World Championships.

1996 : The mountain bike becomes an Olympic sport.

14 April 2002 : Inauguration of the new UCI headquarters in Aigle (SUI)

2008 : BMX becomes an Olympic sport.



The UCI Presidents

Emile de Beukelaer (BEL, 1900-1922)

Léon Breton (FRA, 1922-1936)

Max Burgi (SUI, 1936-1939)

Alban Collignon (BEL, 1939-1947)

Achille Joinard (FRA, 1947-1958)

Adriano Rodoni (ITA, 1958-1981)

Luis Puig (ESP, 1981-1990)

Hein Verbruggen (NED, 1991-2005)

Patrick McQuaid (IRL, 2005-2013)

Brian Cookson (GBR, since 2013) 

  Publications  Links  Employment  FAQ  Contacts  RSS