Skip over navigation
newsid: 179017

The UCI WorldTour Chronicle

The UCI WorldTour Chronicle
The UCI WorldTour Chronicle

- What Happened -

As the Vuelta a España enters its third week, Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) is leading Spain’s Grand Tour with an advantage of three minutes and 37 seconds on Chris Froome (Team Sky) and three minutes and 57 seconds on Esteban Chaves (Orica-BikeExchange). Quintana was unable to drop Froome despite multiple attacks on Vuelta a España’s toughest mountain stage to the Aubisque summit finish on stage 14, but gained over two minutes on the British star on stage 15 after a long-distance attack through the Pyrenees.

With six stages remaining, Quintana will have to defend his lead in a 37 kilometre time trial and two more mountain top finishes before the Vuelta a España finishes in Madrid on September 11th.

Belgium’s Tom Boonen has shown promising form for the upcoming UCI Road World Championships with a sprint victory in the Brussels Classic race. Boonen, already a road race UCI World Champion back in 2005, outpowered French sprinters Arnaud Démare (FDJ) and Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis).

As of August 28th, Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) remains in control of the UCI Individual World Ranking, ahead of Chris Froome and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team), but Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) has made a big advance, from tenth place to sixth. France continue to lead the nations ranking.

The 2016 UCI WorldTour has now completed 20,909.6 kilometres.


- What's Next -

Vuelta a España > Saturday August 20th - Sunday September 11th

Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec (CAN) > Friday September 9th

Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal (CAN) > Sunday September 11th

Last year’s results

2015 Vuelta a España
1. Fabio Aru (ITA)
2. Joaquin Rodríguez (ESP)
3. Rafal Majka (POL)

2015 Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec
1. Rigoberto Urán (COL)
2. Michael Matthews (AUS)
3. Alexander Kristoff (NOR)

2015 Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal
1.Tim Wellens (BEL)
2. Adam Yates (GBR)
3. Rui Costa (POR)


What you should know about…the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec/Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal

The Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal are two one-day races held in a three day period in September in Canada.

They are currently the only two UCI WorldTour events to take place in North America and are jointly known as the ‘Laurentian Classics.’

Usually consisting of 17 laps of 12.1 kilometre circuit, the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal is a hilly Classic, with repeated ascents of climbs in the Mount Royal Park. The finish is uphill, and held on the Avenue du Parc, a 560 metre climb averaging four percent. It has a total of 4,000 metres of vertical climbing.

Usually consisting of 11 laps of an 18.1 kilometre circuit, the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec is also hilly, with repeated ascents of the Côte de la Montagne, Côte de la Potasse, Montée de la Fabrique and Montée du Fort. The finish is uphill on the Montée du Fort, a kilometre long climb with a gradient of four percent.

Both Canadian races were first held in 2010. The Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal has no repeat winners. Australia’s Simon Gerrans has won the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec twice, in 2012 and 2014.

Gerrans and the Netherlands Robert Gesink are the only two riders to have won both Grand Prix Cyclistes.


- UCI WorldTour Rankings -


- Photo of the week -

Basque coast at Vuelta a España

- Focus on: Rigoberto Urán

Rigoberto Uran

Rigoberto Urán is a 29-year-old professional cyclist from Urrao in Colombia, specializing both in stage racing and one-day Classics. Urán’s first full season in the professional ranks was in 2007. Twice a runner-up in the Giro d’Italia and its leader for a spell in 2014, Urán has also been a silver medallist in the Olympic Games road race in 2012.

Major victories and placings

One day races:

2015: Colombian Time Trial National Championships

Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec

2012: Olympic Games road race, second.

Gran Piemonte.

Il Lombardia, third.

2008: Il Lombardia, third.

Stage races:

2015: Tirreno-Adriatico, third overall.

2014: Giro d’Italia, one stage win and second overall.

2013: Giro d’Italia, one stage win and second overall.

2008: Volta a Catalunya, second overall.

2007: Tour de Suisse, stage win.

Bizicleta Vasca, stage win.



- #UCIWT Corner -

uci official partners