Skip over navigation
Press Releases
newsid: 184556

Trials and BMX Freestyle representatives on UCI Athletes' Commission unveiled

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) is pleased to announce that Kenny Belaey and Tatiana Janickova (trials) and Ryan Nyquist and Nina Buitrago (BMX Freestyle) have been elected to represent their respective disciplines on the UCI Athletes' Commission. The election was held during the 2017 UCI Urban Cycling, in Chengdu, China, where all Elite athletes competing in these disciplines were eligible to vote.

Kenny Belaey (Belgium) was elected from a list of three candidates as the trials’ male representative, obtaining 51,6% of the votes. As the unique female candidate for the discipline, Tatiana Janickova (Slovakia) joins Belaey on the Commission.

For BMX Freestyle, two Americans have been elected to the Commission: Ryan Nyquist won the vote (70,3%) from a list of four male candidates, while Nina Buitrago won 71,05% of the votes from a list of two female candidates.

Members of the Commission are elected for a four-year mandate running to the UCI Congress in 2021.

This week's election is part of the renewal of all UCI Commissions in 2017.

Kenny Belaey, Tatiana Janickova, Ryan Nyquist and Nina Buitrago will serve on the UCI Athletes’ Commission alongside Bernhard Eisel (Austria) and Marianne Vos (Netherlands) representing road; Maja Wloszczowska (Poland), Lukas Flückiger (Switzerland), Myriam Nicole (France) and Greg Minnaar (South Africa) representing mountain bike; Sarah Storey (Great Britain) and Colin Lynch (Ireland) representing para-cycling; Laura Smulders (Netherlands) and Liam Phillips (Great Britain) representing BMX Racing; Kristina Vogel (Germany) and Kenny De Ketele (Belgium) representing track cycling; Katerina Nash (Czech Republic) and Simon Zahner (Switzerland) representing cyclo-cross.

The final two members will be elected at the end of this month at the 2017 UCI Indoor Cycling World Championships in Dornbirn, Austria. The Commission will meet for the first time on 12-13 December 2017 at the UCI Headquarters in Aigle, Switzerland.

This year, the UCI has decided to increase the representation of its various disciplines on the UCI Athletes' Commission by modifying its electoral system.

This new voting system sees the UCI Athletes' Commission grow from 13 to 20 members, with a perfect Men/Women balance for all disciplines.

In line with the election method of the Athletes' Commission of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), which elects its members at each Olympic Games, elections of the representatives from each discipline will take place every four years at the UCI World Championships of the relevant discipline.

The mission of the UCI Athletes' Commission is to:
- present the UCI Management Committee with a wide-range of considerations in order to improve the role of athletes in all disciplines;
- promote/improve the respect and rights of athletes across all forms of cycling and in all disciplines;
- promote ethics and all fair play rules inherent to the practice of cycling at all levels;
- provide a direct link with the UCI Management Committee for major events;
- inform athletes of the range of professional training available to them during and after their sporting careers;
- act as ambassadors and role models for all disciplines and at all levels.

According to the Commission's terms of reference, the President of the UCI Athletes' Commission is elected by his/her peers and is co-opted onto the UCI Management Committee, the executive body of the Federation which operates under the authority of the Congress. In addition, one representative on the Athletes' Commission from each discipline automatically becomes a member of the Commission of his/her discipline, and therefore represents the athletes on that Commission.

Trials Men

Number of votes


Kenny Belaey (BEL)



Erik Ulltang (NOR)



Eloi Palau (ESP)



BMX Freestyle Men

Number of votes


Ryan Nyquist (USA)



Daniel Dhers (VEN)



Michael Beran (CZE)



Daniel Josa (HUN)



BMX Freestyle Women

Number of votes


Nina Buitrago (USA)



Cory Coffey (USA)



uci world cycling partner

uci official partners

uci official supporters