Skip over navigation
Mountain Bike
newsTag:
newsid: 165007
Mountain Bike

A propos

Mountain Bike
Mountain Bike

Les premières compétitions de mountain bike se sont déroulées au début des années 80, en Californie (USA). Depuis lors, la discipline, sous tous ses aspects, a très vite progressé. Les premiers Championnats du Monde officiellement reconnus par l’UCI datent de 1990. Une Coupe du Monde a été créée l’année suivante.

QUATRE SPÉCIALITÉS

CROSS-COUNTRY (fait partie du programme olympique)
Le cross-country se court sur circuits fermés accidentés (descentes techniques, chemins forestiers, sentiers rocailleux, franchissement d’obstacles) de 5 à 9 km. La durée de la course varie de 1 h 45 à 2 h 30 selon les catégories.

CROSS-COUNTRY MARATHON
Le marathon est une course de cross-country empruntant un parcours de 60 à 120 km. Sa particularité réside dans le fait que coureurs professionnels et populaires s’y côtoient. Le marathon se court en montagne. Contrairement au cross-country, les coureurs ne passent jamais deux fois au même endroit.

DESCENTE
La descente, (parfois appelée «downhill» et abrégé DH) est une course contre la montre dans laquelle le descendeur négocie une succession de passages tantôt rapides, tantôt techniques. Le coureur doit faire preuve d’engagement et posséder un sens aiguisé du pilotage pour affronter les racines, dévers, bosses, sauts et autres obstacles naturels rencontrés lors d’une descente. Les vitesses de pointes atteignent près de 80 km/h.

FOUR-CROSS
En four-cross (souvent abrégé «4-cross» ou «4X»), 4 coureurs s’affrontent pour descendre le plus vite possible une piste alternant virages relevés et sauts. Les courses sont très rapides (environ 30 secondes à 1 minute) et donnent lieu à des affrontements extrêmement serrés et disputés entre les coureurs. Le vainqueur est le premier qui franchit la ligne d’arrivée. Les courses de four-cross se déroulent en plusieurs manches éliminatoires.

Partenaires Officiels UCI

Top

Skip over navigation
Mountain Bike
newsTag:
newsid: 126807
Mountain Bike

About

Mountain Bike
Mountain Bike

The first mountain bike competitions were held in California (USA) in the early eighties. Since then the discipline has grown very fast, in all aspects. The first World Championships to be officially recognized by the UCI dates back to 1990. A World Cup was set up the following year.

FOUR SPECIALITIES

CROSS-COUNTRY (part of the Olympic programme)
Cross-country races are held over undulating circuits (with technical descents, forest roads, rocky paths and obstacles) of 5 to 9 km. The race varies from 1 h 45 minutes to 2 h 30 minutes depending on the category.

CROSS-COUNTRY MARATHON
The marathon event is a long version of cross-country held over a course of 60 to 120 km. A special feature is that riders from all categories, from enthusiasts to professionals, race together. The marathon event is held in a mountainous region. In contrast to the Olympic cross-country format, the riders never pass the same point twice.

DOWNHILL
Downhill (also referred to as DHI) is a race against the clock in which the rider negotiates a succession of fast and technical passages. The participant must demonstrate courage as well as sharp technical and piloting skills in order to affront tree roots, banked sections, bumps, jumps and other natural obstacles along the way. Speeds reach around 80km/h in the men’s races and 70km/h for women.

FOUR-CROSS
In four-cross (often abbreviated to “4-cross” or “4X”), four participants set off together to ride down a track that alternates banked corners and jumps. The races are very rapid (between 30 seconds and one minute) and give rise to fierce and closely contested confrontations between the riders. The winner is the first to cross the finish line. The four-cross races take place over several qualifying rounds.

Official UCI Partners

top