Union Cycliste Internationale
English  |  Français  
News ▪
Home Road Track Mountain Bike Cyclo-cross BMX Trials Indoor cycling Para-cycling Cycling for all
Agrandir le texte Réduire le texte Imprimer la page Envoyer l'article


UCI WorldTour: Weening snatches victory at the Tour de Pologne




Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) snatched overall victory at the 70th edition of the Tour de Pologne, outperforming his rivals in the final 37km time trial stage to take the winner's yellow jersey on the very last day.

The Dutchman started the time trial 27 seconds down on Frenchman Christophe Riblon (Ag2r-La Mondiale) but used his skills against the clock to finish sixth on the stage and take overall victory. In the final overall results, Weening beat Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel-Euskadi) by 13 seconds, with Riblon dropping to third overall at 16 seconds. 
Local hero Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) finished fourth overall at 26 seconds, with Sergio Henao (Team Sky) fifth at 51 seconds.

It was arguably the biggest win of Weening's ten-year professional career.

The weeklong Tour de Pologne saw some tough racing, with the special time bonus system and six-rider teams introduced by the UCI, making for open and aggressive racing. In 2011 he won a stage at the Giro d'Italia and wore the leader's pink jersey for four days.

The two opening stages in the Italian Dolomites set the tone for the race, with Riblon winning at the summit of the Passo Pordoi. He then took the race lead after the mountain finish to Bukowina Tatrzańska but did not gain enough time to hold off Weening in the decisive final time trial.

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) won the final stage ahead of Fabian Cancellara (Radioshack-Leopard) and Taylor Phinney (BMC), proving he is back to his best after a difficult Giro d'Italia.

UCI WorldTour points

Thanks to his overall victory in the Tour de Pologne, Weening scored
100 UCI WorldTour points, Izaguirre scored 80 points and Riblon scored
70 points. Other riders in the top ten also scored the precious ranking points to help their individual, team and nation ranking.

Tour de France winner Chris Froome (Team Sky) still leads the UCI WorldTour individual ranking. The Kenyan-born Briton has a total of
587 points thanks to his string of stage victories in this year's WorldTour. Froome won the Tour de Romandie and the Critérium du Dauphiné before dominating at the Tour de France.

Peter Sagan (Cannondale) remains in second place in the individual ranking with 409 points. Spain's Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), the winner of the 2012 UCI WorldTour, is third with 390 points.

Weening moved up from 60th to 24th in the individual rankings and now has a total of 151 points. Izaguirre is 26th with 141 points and Riblon is 33rd with 111 points.

Team Sky continues to lead the team ranking in the UCI WorldTour with a massive 1411 points. Movistar is a distant second with 1115 points and Katusha is third with 941 points. Spain leads the nations ranking ahead of Colombia and Great Britain.

The Eneco Tour is up next

The UCI WorldTour continues in August with the Eneco Tour stage race in the Netherlands and Belgium. The seven-day race starts on August 12 in Koksijde, Belgium with a 175km road stage and ends with a similar stage to Geraardsbergen on Sunday August 18.

The overall classification is expected to be decided on the stage five 13.2km individual time trial around Sittard-Geleen and the hilly 150km sixth stage from Riemst to the top of the La Redoute climb in Belgium.

Bradley Wiggins will lead Team Sky in the race and Taylor Phinney
(BMC) has also confirmed he will ride Eneco Tour. Tom Boonen will be back in action on his home roads of Belgium with Omega Pharma-Quick Step, while German sprinter Marcel Kittel will lead Argos-Shimano.

2012 winner Lars Boom (Belkin) is expected to defend his title.

The UCI WorldTour rankings will be next updated after the Eneco Tour.

  Publications  Links  Employment  FAQ  Contacts  RSS