Union Cycliste Internationale
English  |  Français  
News ▪
Home Road Track Mountain Bike Cyclo-cross BMX Trials Indoor cycling Para-cycling Cycling for all
Agrandir le texte Réduire le texte Imprimer la page Envoyer l'article


BMX Supercross World Cup: Willoughby and Buchanan won the overall series




Dutch riders Twan van Gendt and Laura Smulders took top honors at the final stop of the 2012 BMX Supercross World Cup UCI, in Abbotsford (Canada), on Saturday. Aussies Sam Willoughby and Caroline Buchanan won the overall 2012 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup.

In a star studded final Van Gendt pulled of his first ever win in a World Cup event. The fast Dutchman had a great start and won the ‘holeshot’. Van Gendt seemed unthreatened after most of the favorites crashed in the first turn. It was a big pile up with Tory Nyhaug (CAN) Connor Fields (USA) and Barry Nobles (USA). Sam Willoughby tried to catch up with Van Gendt after that but the Dutchman, who recorded the fastest lap time in the series, rode of to victory unthreatened. With that result Van Gendt also rocketed up to 3rd overall in the 2012 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup.

Laura Smulders on the other hand was in the right place at the right time. The Olympic bronze medalist saw the initial leaders Caroline Buchanan (AUS) and Brooke Crain (USA) go down in the first turn and then Smulders was close behind Lauren Reynolds (AUS) who was chasing Felicia Stancil (USA). For some reason the last two riders crashed on the third straight and gave the victory to a jubilant and very surprised Laura Smulders.

On Friday, Sam Willoughby and Caroline Buchanan won the time trial. Canadian Olympian Tory Nyhaug raced his best time trial of the season coming in second only by 0.023 seconds behind the reigning UCI World Champion Willoughby.

  Publications  Links  Employment  FAQ  Contacts  RSS